top of page

The Shediac Lobster Festival to Celebrate its 75th Anniversary in 2024

SHEDIAC, NB, December 14, 2023 - The holidays may be right around the corner, but the team behind the Shediac Lobster Festival has been diligently preparing to celebrate the 75th anniversary of the region’s beloved festival next summer, from Friday, July 5th to Sunday, July 14th, 2024. They want everyone to know that attendees can expect everything about this year’s festival to be “market” size.

“The Shediac Lobster Festival has been bringing the community together to celebrate lobster, our local delicacy, since 1949! But this year will be very special as we celebrate our 75th anniversary, our biggest festival to date,” shared Pascal Haché, President of the Shediac Lobster Festival. “Our team has been working extremely hard to offer festival-goers new and exciting activities. Our staple events are back, including our annual claw run, recognized as Run NB’s event of the year in 2023. And, of course, Campbell Amusements will be with us for an extra day this year. We invite all foodies, families, music fans, runners, and lobster lovers to come down to Shediac for the whole week - we can’t wait to welcome you with our claws wide open!”

Festival Announces Town of Shediac Mayor Roger Caissie as Honorary Co-President

This year, Shediac Mayor Roger Caissie joins the team as the Honorary Co-President of the 75th annual Shediac Lobster Festival. The Town of Shediac has always been the festival’s biggest supporter and the reason for its continued success.

“75 years of the Shediac Lobster Festival - that’s something to be celebrated,” shared Mayor Caissie. “As the Mayor of the Lobster Capital of the World, it is my pleasure to welcome people from all over to our 75th-anniversary celebration in 2024. Beyond the amazing entertainment, lobster-eating contests, gourmet events, and rides you’ve come to expect, we have some big surprises planned for this special celebration and invite you to join us.”

Salebarbes will headline two shows at The Lobster festival on July 12th and July 13th

 

The Shediac Lobster Festival team announced today that everyone’s favorite band, Salebarbes, will be headlining the festival and setting foot on stage for not one but two shows next summer, on Friday, July 12th, and Saturday, July 13th, 2024.

“We are thrilled to have Salebarbes be part of the festival in 2024 for not one, but two shows at our Lobster Festival!!” added Haché. “They are the biggest Acadian band right now, selling out all their shows! You won’t be able to resist dancing to their Cajun-flavored music, and we couldn’t have asked for a better band to celebrate our 75th anniversary! And like it couldn’t get any better, Les Hay Babies will also take the stage on these not-to-be-missed concerts! Our team also did a stellar job putting together our July 6th concert, which will have Signal Hill, The Mellotones, and local favorite Melanie Morgan take the stage. Today is the first announcement of many; stay tuned for a lot more to come!”

Other not-to-be-missed events and information

The popular Ales & Tails event, hosted by Hub City Foodies’ Jason Gallant, on Saturday, July 6th, featuring craft beers of New Brunswick with a tasting of lobster bites, also returns to the Festival’s programming. Ticket holders for Ales and Tails will also have access to that evening’s concert following the event, featuring Melanie Morgan, the Mellotones, and Signal Hill. Concert tickets can be purchased separately for those not attending Ales and Tails.

The festival’s more upscale event, Corks & Claws, returns on Saturday, July 13th. Guests will enjoy eight delicious lobster offerings prepared by local restaurants and paired with carefully selected wines to provide a memorable wine and food pairing experience while enjoying a musical performance by Tina Gautreau. Tickets to Corks & Claws will also include admission to what will surely be a sold-out performance by Salebarbes.

“We will clearly be celebrating big in 2024, and this comes with additional planning. We will be communicating our plans publicly in great detail as they are finalized because our Festival site will look a little different than normal,” shared Julie Arsenault, Executive Director of the Shediac Lobster Festival. “We are very excited to have the spotlight on Shediac this summer, and we invite eager festival-goers to book their accommodations as soon as possible, as they will be scarce. We also invite everyone to follow us on Facebook and Instagram, as well as our website for the most up-to-date information."

Finally, after the wild success and global attention following the return of La Grande Table in 2023, this festival favourite is set for Sunday, July 14th, and tickets are now on sale. This famous lobster dinner served on a gigantic, long communal table where up to one thousand people will gather for a delicious locally sourced meal is an excellent gift idea for the lobster lovers on your holiday shopping list.

Tickets for concerts announced today, Ales & Tails, and Corks & Claws go on sale on Friday, December 15th, at 10:00 am AST. To learn more and catch your tickets, visit https://www.shediaclobsterfestival.ca/

Tickets for The Claw Run will go on sale in early 2024.

The 2024 Shediac Lobster Festival is proudly presented by:

The Town of Shediac

-30-

MEDIA RELATIONS
Crystal Richard - Media relations manager
crystal@crystalrichard.com
(506) 860-0956

ADDITIONAL INQUIRIES
info@shediaclobsterfestival.ca
(506) 532-1122

bottom of page

top of page

Le Festival du homard de Shediac célébrera en grand pour son 75e anniversaire en 2024

SHEDIAC, N.-B., 14 Décembre 2023 - Même si les fêtes de fin d'année approchent à grands pas, les organisateurs du Festival du homard de Shediac sont déjà pleinement investis dans les préparatifs pour célébrer les 75 ans de cet événement très apprécié. Le festival aura lieu l'été prochain, du vendredi 5 juillet au dimanche 14 juillet 2024. Les organisateurs tiennent à faire savoir à tous que cette édition promet d'être d'une ampleur exceptionnelle. 

« C'est depuis 1949 que le Festival du homard de Shediac rassemble la communauté pour célébrer le homard, notre délice local ! Cette année, l’événement prend une allure très spéciale, car nous célébrerons notre 75ᵉ anniversaire. Ce sera notre plus grand festival à ce jour », a partagé Pascal Haché, président du Festival du homard de Shediac. « Notre équipe a travaillé très fort pour offrir de nouvelles activités excitantes pour tous. Nos activités de base sont de retour, y compris notre course de pinces annuelle, qui vient d’être reconnue par CourseNB comme l’événement de l’année en 2023. Et, bien sûr, Campbell Amusements sera avec nous pour une journée de plus cette année. Nous invitons tous les gastronomes, les familles, les amateurs de musique, les coureurs et les adeptes du homard à venir à Shediac pour la semaine. Nous avons hâte de vous accueillir avec nos pinces grandes ouvertes ! » 

 

 Le Festival annonce le Maire Roger Caissie en tant que coprésident honoraire

 

 Cette année, le maire de Shediac, Roger Caissie, se joint à l'équipe en tant que coprésident honoraire du 75ᵉ Festival annuel du homard de Shediac. La Ville de Shediac a toujours été le plus grand soutien du festival et la raison de son succès continu. « Les 75 ans de Festival du homard de Shediac, c’est quelque chose qu’il faut célébrer ! », a partagé le maire Caissie. « En tant que maire de la capitale mondiale du homard, il me fait plaisir d’accueillir des gens de partout à notre 75ᵉ anniversaire en 2024. Outre les divertissements extraordinaires, les concours de dégustation de homard, les événements gastronomiques et les manèges auxquels vous êtes habitués, nous avons prévu de grandes surprises pour cette célébration spéciale et nous vous invitons à vous joindre à nous. » 

Le groupe populaire Salebarbes présentera deux spectacles dans le cadre du Festival du homard de Shediac les 12 et 13 juillet.

 

L’équipe du Festival a annoncé aujourd’hui que le groupe préféré de tous, Salebarbes, sera la tête d’affiche musicale de l’événement. Il montera sur scène pour non pas un, mais deux spectacles, le vendredi 12 et le samedi 13 juillet, 2024.


« Nous sommes super contents de présenter le groupe Salebarbes en 2024, non pas pour un, mais pour deux spectacles dans le cadre du Festival du homard », a ajouté Haché. « Il s’agit du groupe acadien le plus populaire à l’heure actuelle. Leurs spectacles sont toujours à guichet fermé. Personne ne peut résister à la tentation de danser sur leur musique à saveur cajun. C'est vraiment le groupe idéal pour souligner notre 75ᵉ anniversaire ! Et, ce n’est pas tout. Les Hay Babies monteront aussi sur scène durant ces spectacles à ne pas manquer ! Notre équipe a également effectué un travail remarquable en préparant le concert du 6 juillet. Signal Hill, les Mellotones et l'artiste, bien connue de Shediac, Melanie Morgan monteront sur scène. Aujourd'hui marque la première annonce parmi de nombreuses autres ; restez à l'écoute pour bien plus à venir ! »

Autres événements et informations à ne pas manquer

Le festival présentera son événement populaire Ales & Tails le samedi 6 juillet. C’est Jason Gallant de Hub City Foodies qui en sera l’hôte. On pourra y déguster des bières artisanales du Nouveau-Brunswick avec des amuse-gueule au homard. Les détenteurs de billets pour cet événement auront aussi accès au concert de la soirée avec Melanie Morgan, les Mellotones, et Signal Hill. Les billets seront vendus séparément pour ceux qui ne participeront pas à Ales & Tails.

Une des activités la plus populaire du festival, Corks & Claws, sera de retour le samedi 13 juillet. Les invités pourront déguster huit délicieuses bouchées au homard préparées par des restaurants locaux, accompagnées de vins soigneusement choisis pour offrir une expérience mémorable, tout en profitant d’une prestation musicale de Tina Gautreau. Les billets pour l’activité Corks & Claws comprennent aussi l’entrée au spectacle de Salebarbes. Ce sera sûrement un spectacle à guichets fermés.

« Il est clair que nous célèbrerons en grand en 2024, et cela demande une planification additionnelle et bien pensée. Nous rendrons publics les détails du programme au fur et à mesure qu’ils seront finalisés, car le site du festival sera un peu différent que par le passé », a partagé Julie Arsenault, directrice générale du Festival du homard de Shediac. « Nous sommes très heureux que Shediac soit la vedette des célébrations cet été, et nous invitons les festivaliers à réserver leur hébergement le plus tôt possible, puisque les places sont limitées. Nous vous invitons aussi à nous suivre sur les médias sociaux (Facebook, Instagram) et sur notre site web pour obtenir les renseignements les plus à jour. »

Enfin, après le succès fou et l’attention mondiale suscités par le retour de La Grande Table en 2023, ce coup de coeur du festival est au programme pour le dimanche 14 juillet. Les billets sont en vente dès maintenant. Ce célèbre repas au homard est servi sur une gigantesque et longue table communautaire où jusqu’à mille personnes se réuniront pour déguster un délicieux repas d’origine locale. Il s’agit d’une excellente idée de cadeau pour les adeptes de homard sur votre liste de Noël.

Les billets des spectacles annoncés aujourd'hui et les soirées Ales & Tails et Corks & Claws iront en vente ce vendredi 15 décembre à 10 h HNA.

Pour en savoir plus et acheter vos billets, visitez le site https://www.festivalduhomarddeshediac.ca


Les billets pour la Course des pinces seront mis en vente au début de l’année 2024.

Le Festival du homard de Shediac 2024 est fièrement présenté par: 

La Ville de Shediac

-30-

RELATIONS MÉDIATIQUES
Crystal Richard - Responsable des relations médiatiques
crystal@crystalrichard.com
(506) 860-0956

ADDITIONAL INQUIRIES
info@shediaclobsterfestival.ca
(506) 532-1122

bottom of page